Joy

I awoke this morning after a lousy night’s sleep. I don’t really know why, but it’s unusual for me to wander our house in the middle of the night. Yet last night that’s exactly what I was doing.  Ugh.

So today when I woke up to two matching faces – (aka: my cats wanting breakfast) it was just a “tad early” after maybe 3 hours of sleep. I fed them and tried to return to sleep. No go.

I have a simple rule in my life that I try to remember everyday. And that is to find joy in at least one part of my day. We all have hardships, issues that seem to drag on forever, and pain that keeps us awake at night.  But I try to find at least one joyful experience each day, and try to appreciate that frozen moment. It might be that first sip of a great cup of coffee. It could be the sweet look on my husband’s face when I come through the door. It might be the glow of a beautiful sunrise when I’m on the beach with Zeke.  I’ve found that if I take the time to identify at least one moment of joy in each day, it brings a smile and makes me remember for that one moment that joy is kind of what it’s all about.  People may argue ‘no love is what it’s all about’.  Yes but to find that love and feel it passionately, one must start with joy.

How many times do we trudge through our day trying to make ends meet, dulling our minds with TV or anything to get the hard issues to go away for a while?  I don’t know anyone who hasn’t done this. But how often do we recount the joy in our day?  Granted it’s not always easy. But if  I’m cognizant of this being a goal I find there is a lift in my step as I move forward through my life. And if you try this, pretty soon you’ll notice you aren’t even working at it. There are many joyful times in everyday – you just have to know when to stop and notice.

So back to this morning at O-dark-thirty with no sleep. I lay back down and shut my eyes hoping to fall back into sleep.  Just outside our open bedroom window I heard the familiar honks of  Canadian Geese starting a leg of their twice yearly trek. I lay there eyes shut, and smiled. What a beautiful sound to hear them starting their morning journey. We have a pond near-by where they will stay for the night, resting and feeding before the dawn’s trek.

It was awesome.

So what went through my head? Well, first of all that fall is truly here, and secondly this little rhyme my parents (now both in spirit) used to say:

“Spring has sprung, fall has fell, winter’s here and it’s colder than it was last year.”

Cracked them up every time.

I found joy twice this morning before I’d “officially” opened my eyes.


For Jeremy: a guy who knew joy.

4 thoughts on “Joy

  1. Hi Breeze!
    It’s good to see you here.
    I was wondering if cats who are taken by other animals, wolves, coyotes, also choose to leave.
    My sister’s cat fed a coyote and a friend’s fed a wolf in the last month. My frien is beside her self over it. My sister is sad but is good at taking things in stride.
    Mickey and Melba are fine and say hello.
    Lori

    • Raven!

      How nice to see you stopped by. I’ll write something on this soon. It’s really sad when it happens. Humans have a really tough time with losing their animal friends this way. But there is an explanation, however not everyone agrees with it. New post coming soon! And thanks again for stopping by.

  2. Melba left us the other day. It was very peaceful. She chose a good time because we are traveling to the south for the winter next week. I was afraid the trip would be horrible for her. The things I learned from you have helped me deal with the loss.
    Lori

    • First I’m sorry for your loss. We can have a direct contact with Great Spirit and know all there is, but a loss is still a loss.

      Thank you for the compliment. I’m honored and glad you learned to make this easier.

Leave a Reply

