Miss Maddie made it Easy

Awhile back I worked with this lovely lady. Her name is Miss Maddie. She was a healer who traveled the quiet neighborhood in the midsection of our small community. She lived with many humans and went by many names. Loved by all who knew her, this healer masked herself as a feline. She lived for a year or two with one human, and then would move on to the next soul who was in need of her gentle healing.

Her last human called me when Miss Maddie was working her way through her final days. She had questions on Maddie’s wishes and true condition.  She had adopted her last person who made a promise to her. She would help her live out her life and then help her to spirit. Miss Maddie was 15 when I met her. She had a tumor in her belly that was bigger than she was. It was hard at first to see what this tumor had done to this tiny elderly frame. But the love that she radiated told me her heart was bigger than any tumor could ever become.

I was with Miss Maddie and her human the day she went to spirit. We needed a vet’s help and it’s not something I typically do with clients. But in this case I made an exception. I don’t regret a moment of that very hard day. I asked Bart ahead of time to please keep his heart ready to receive Miss Maddie when she arrived at her destination – the place where her spirit would live on in the heavens.  Bart received her as my client and I shared tears and a day we won’t forget. Miss Maddie had had a great life and was now watching over all from her new home in spirit.

Maddie made sure her human and I cemented a friendship before she left. And soon after, my new friend adopted two kittens. One is red. Red kitties as I’ve talked about before are very special spiritual cats. They are like little mysterious messengers from Spirit that live among us.  I had my eye on Stella from the beginning. For now though she’s a kitten who’s legs and body don’t quite co-ordinate. She’s exploring all this new body and life have to offer. She’s a “hunter-wannabe” and a great companion for her new mom and brother who is part 2 of the package adopted by my friend.

Her brother Easy is jet-black. A male kitten dipped in ink except for his yellow-green eyes. He’s more shy than his sister and lives to eat. He’s going to be one big black boy. He’s also changing  in a way that I hadn’t been ready for.

Shortly after my friend adopted her kitty kids, she went to visit her human kids. So she asked if I would take a shift feeding the two little eating and growing machines at her home. I agreed. On the first night I was watching them play and I glanced at a beautiful photo of Miss Maddie that hangs on the wall. Since I work with animal’s photos I often get messages when I’m not expecting it.

As I looked at the photo, Maddie told me she would watch over the kids so that they would stay out of trouble and then said in a matter-of-fact way that she and Easy had been in negotiations.  She was going to trade spirits with this kitty and assume his body. I was surprised. She was coming back rather quickly and this time as a male. But Maddie has always had her own agenda.

The rest of the week was fascinating as I watched what had been a shy male kitten, become a cat I had known in a different body. He spent a lot of his time eating, but he also visibly changed. Slowly he began to take on the traits of Maddie. Whenever I would arrive to feed them – he’d greet me at the door while Stella was busy hanging from a curtain rod. It was like he knew how to behave, and he knew me.  He was enjoying the young strong body and I started to think I was making it all up. That is until the neighbor stopped by.

My friend’s neighbor dropped in to chat and see the kitties one afternoon. She too is an animal lover and told me how much she was enjoying the kittens. She described some great kitten moments of Stella’s and then said “And Easy really reminds me of Miss Maddie!” I was a little taken aback. I had told no one what Maddie had told me. And this was coming from someone who knew Maddie, was watching  the kittens at play in the daytime outside, and had come to this on her own.

My friend has been back from vacation for over a month now. She is sure that Easy is Maddie, or rather Maddie is Easy. Whatever. I have seen this many times after the transition is complete, but never watched it from the beginning and followed the progress. He’s an amazing cat. And I’m sure he’s going to carry on the work that Maddie came here to do. I’m fairly certain he’ll stay with his sister and my friend. He loves them both very much.

And it should be interesting and fun to watch as Maddie/Easy performs his magic.

One thought on “Miss Maddie made it Easy

  1. Pingback: A New Life – A New Adventure | Tails around the water bowl

Leave a Reply

