My Guide in the Heavens

Three years ago today I stood by his side, stroking him gently, tears streaming down my face, as my cat Bart flew to spirit. He was 19, had lived a great life, and sadly the time was right to say good-bye.  His body simply broke down. At that moment, I was not the animal communicator, I was the human having to face the hard task so many of my clients have faced. There was no last message, I didn’t feel him leave because I was numb. There were three others in the room, my vet, her assistant, and my good friend. They all talked to Bart as he left, but all I could do was stroke his fur gently for the final time.

A lot has happened since he changed. He is now the greeter for my animal friends and the animal friend’s of clients who cross over. He greets them and helps them re-acclimate to their spirit bodies. His job is not only an important one, it’s comforting to those left here.

I suppose that sounds weird. But the transition into spirit is confusing at first. Knowing he’s right here when I need him is nice for me, and my clients who know their animal friend will be greeted by this kind and wise soul.  When he first transitioned,  I was so lost I didn’t know if I could continue my work without him. He’s the one who taught me I had the gift and ability to talk with animals, both here and on the other side. This process totally changed my life. And today, 3 years later, he’s my “guide-in-fur” and I know he hasn’t really left me at all, it’s just very different.

The spring after he crossed I came up with an idea that I have found is very healing for anyone who has lost an animal or human loved one. I created a garden in his memory. I asked friends and neighbors who knew him if they would contribute and the result was a wild hodge-podge of color. The garden blossomed and grew all over my deck.

Each morning I would step outside to tend and watch it grow. I created a beautiful garden of life for him. It cheered me and I’ve continued to plant in his memory every spring, and now add a flower for animals I’ve worked with (Bart’s idea) to grow life in their memory. Clients ask for photos and I point out the flower that is blossoming just for their animal friend.

The little angel in the photo was in the yard of an empty home across the street. In his last summer, I would hunt and find Bart, (no longer able to defend himself) asleep on the lawn, in the sun. The yard was surrounded by over growth due to neglect of the yard. This little angel watched over and protected him as he rested in the warm sun. He loved being outdoors. And when the house sold I recruited the angel for my garden.

On this third anniversary I realize how much he has taught me from his vantage point. He’s busy with other tasks he hasn’t shared with me, but is always here when I need him. I miss him very much although I talk with him daily. Someday he’ll choose a new body and return to me. I don’t long for that day because everything is unfolding exactly as it should.

But the part that always leaves me a little empty is: you can’t cuddle with energy.

Bart

Miss you buddy. Hope you’ll be home soon.

Love, Mom

2 thoughts on “My Guide in the Heavens

  1. Pingback: My Guide in the Heavens (via Tails around the water bowl) « The Hermit's Journey

Leave a Reply

