Please, Don’t shoot the messenger.

I attended my first animal communication course given by a famous animal communicator. She offered a beginner’s course in Oregon and although it was a long drive, I opted to go. I needed to find out whether or not I was hearing messages from the animals around me.

Our last session of the two day course was held on a farm and we were told as our final test to go out and have a conversation with one of the animals for about five minutes. The woman who taught the class is very good and held in very high esteem in the animal communication community. She walked through the farm as each of us talked with our chosen animal. She could tell if we were truly talking with them, or “projecting” – a term often used when you create what you think the animal is saying, and not what is truly being said.

We all gathered back around a circle and were asked to relay our experiences with the animal we had talked to. I was a bit shy about repeating my conversation but finally spoke up and told the class that I had talked to a horse who enjoyed having a good poop. No words of wisdom, no message from the Universe, just that he liked relieving his gut.

Our teacher was quiet for a moment and then said to me “You are a natural at this. You don’t even have to try.” I was really quite surprised as I came to realize that all conversations held prior to this class, had actually happened. I had come for an answer to my question  and took me on the path I’m on today.

Upon hearing validation from one of the best, I practiced for the next 4 years. I worked with another highly respected animal communicator as my mentor.  I asked friends, and friends of friends to let me practice on their animals. I worked hard but didn’t always come back with the correct answers. My mentor (who doesn’t take students) was hard on me, and taught me great tools so that I could go on to be a professional.

Animals communicate with me in any way they think they can best get their message across. They use words, feelings in my body, and “movies.” The movies are scenes from the animal’s life that race by very fast. All this can happen at once and deciphering the message is tough sometimes, but even if I don’t understand it, the human typically does. And now, many animals later, I have a good idea of what I’m getting, and have had high praise for my messages.

I decided that working with animals in spirit was the thing for me. I love speaking with the animals in this form because their messages can be lovely.  They come and say what they have to say to their human, and if I had to describe it, I would say it’s animal communication in its purest form.

I am very sensitive to the humans who have lost their animal. The last thing I want to do is upset them more by delivering a message that is off or untrue. But if someone is having an animal communicator experience for the first time, they may become confused by the message.

And what to do if it doesn’t ring true? What if the message is misunderstood by the human and they become more upset? That situation makes me feel very badly. The last thing I want to do is to make a hard situation even harder. I think humans should  understand: they are having me talk with a spirit. Their beloved animal companion has taken different form and may deliver a very different message. Some have very “earthly” messages, for example “I miss our walks together.” But other spirits who are more evolved might say “It’s about love and acceptance, and I will return to you soon in another form.”

And do I still “miss”? Of course I do. Not often, but occasionally, since I’m human after all, I miss the message or talk to the wrong animal. But I’ve learned to recognize when I miss and am willing work with the client until we figure out what may have gone wrong.

This isn’t an exact science. I try, through this blog and my website to teach humans what to expect when they have me, or any animal communicator talk with their animal. They may not get the answers they wanted, but they are getting a message that is truly and simply: just for them.

The one thing my mentor always told me was “if the animal said it? Then that’s what the animal said.” And she’s right. Second guessing or trying to ask again from another angle is simply projecting what the human wants to hear. I don’t work that way because it doesn’t work.

So if you think you’ve had a bad experience with a pet psychic or animal communicator, please don’t shoot the messenger. Sit with your answers for a few days, weeks, or even months. I believe that eventually you’ll find that the message you received is just for you.

Leave a Reply

