Losing One of My Own

lisa0730001223 This morning, my sixteen year old kitty Breeze, left her body in my arms as her spirit crossed into the heavens. Throughout her life, she had many health issues. But this final battle was short. She had a disease called “FIP“. She was diagnosed last Wednesday and lived just five more days. We were told the disease was fatal, but had no idea she would leave us so quickly.

Breeze and her kitten were dumped 15 years ago, on the highway that runs the length of our town. We could tell by her belly that she had had a litter of four kittens. She later told me that she was dumped with all four along the highway, but was only able to save one. She had the kitten with her and we named the kitten “Eddy” before finding out she was a girl. But since she already knew her new name, we left her with a life of gender identity confusion. Besides the passions my husband and I each have, we also own and operate a kite shop. The girls lived an interesting life in our store for ten years, while their brother Bart lived here in our house. When Bart went to spirit in ’07, we brought the girls home to a life of quilts, pillows, and above all: warmth. Breeze and Eddy were six months apart, according the vet. They also remained close to each other although they are very different. Breeze is loving and protective. Eddy is shy and only likes a few humans.

As the Head Kitty in our store, Breeze proved to be a challenge for us. She hated dogs with a passion. Should one decide to try and enter our store, Breeze would attack the dog without warning. This wasn’t great for business, but we kept dog cookies on hand to give to an unsuspecting dog. I told her that this was a dangerous game and that she was going to get hurt if she didn’t stop. Thankfully she mellowed. We posted signs about our Attack Cat, a tiny long-haired Tabby who never weighed into double digits. All employees had to put up with her in their laps – on their first day of work. Breeze showed everyone who has worked for us who was the boss. Although I signed their paychecks, Breeze kept them in line.
She was sweet, kind, and one of the most loving cats I’ve ever known. She always greeted friends at our door and welcomed them into our home. She was small, but her greeting was loud. She stunned people with her vocal cords vs. her size, and once they acknowledged her, she would become a sweet little kitty who enjoyed attention. She also enjoyed meeting customers in our store.

Breeze would climb up on my chest and scratch my forehead until I woke to her sweet face.

When a customer would spread out a large kite on the floor for us to inspect, Breeze would trot out into the middle of the giant, often expensive kite. She did this where we couldn’t reach her, but she never once put her claws into the fabric. She never put her claws in any kites in our store. Somehow she (and Eddy too) knew that although it was tempting, they were never to get out those sharp fingernails around kites. One time a kite rep opened his large bag of kites and was scared beyond words when he saw Breeze digging through it. She needed to know what was in there! However she only used her paws, never her claws.
Breeze12

Some friends may remember when Breeze discovered a way to wake me in the mornings. As the girls got older, they grew more impatient for their breakfast. Breeze would climb up on my chest and scratch my forehead until I woke to her sweet face. I tried a cloth covering my face, a bandana, but eventually had to keep the door closed at night so I wouldn’t resemble a human scratching post. It was shortly after accepting the closed door, that she took up residence on our kitchen table. Not being able to hear, she’d sit on the table and see when I was coming into the kitchen. She would rev up her loud voice, and insist on being fed first thing. It was not the most pleasant way to be greeted, but my face soon healed and her loud cries for food eventually made me giggle.

She had a good and long life. And although I know I will hear from her soon, the sadness has crept in and I feel her absence. I’m honored she let me hold her as she took her final breath. This is something I’ll never forget. For at the moment she left her body, her eyes grew wide and she lifted her weak arms towards the sky, while looking over my right shoulder. I know it was *Bart who was there. I had asked him to come and get her. Although I didn’t see him, I know she did, and at that moment, knew she was going home. Animals don’t view death like humans do. They remember where they’re going. They remember the comfort of “home” and they know they can come back to visit us as energy – or they can get another body and return to the earth plane. She had no fear or sadness. We’ll all miss her. Especially Eddy. For they were as close as two souls can be. The humans in this house will try and pick up the slack, but there’s no way we can provide the comfort that Breeze did for Eddy.

I’m so grateful there was no suffering and that she understood me when I told her to go. Go home. Be with spirit and be free from her ailing body.

Breeze_B

(Above)Eddy grooming Breeze yesterday afternoon. (Below) Breeze in her chair yesterday afternoon.

BREEZE_11_12_11

*Bart was my kitty for many years. Now in spirit, he greets all my clients animal friends as they enter the spirit world once again.

8 thoughts on “Losing One of My Own

  1. What a wonderful tribute and narrative on Breeze’s departure. Thank you for posting this.
    What a life she had while she was here. She is missed.

  2. So sorry for your loss Lisa. Breeze was so lucky to have you for a “Mom”. Bart will help her with the transition. Our thoughts are with you.

  3. A beautiful tribute for a beautiful soul. Bart will take good care of her. ❤ I hope she sends word to you soon. Love and light to you all.

  4. Lisa, I am so sorry to hear about Breeze but it sounds like she had a great life after she found you. What a lovely tribute, I feel like I knew her now even though I am not sure we ever met. I am glad you can find comfort in knowing she is with Bart and at a peace. Love and light to you. xx Cousin Katie

Leave a Reply

