Eddy 1997-2015

In the spring of 1997 my husband John asked me to marry him. It was a very exciting and unexpected moment. My world had suddenly changed from living together with the love of my life, to The Big Step. I said “yes” of course. A few days later a teenage mama kitty and her baby showed up at our kite shop.  They had been dumped and Breeze (the mama kitty) had made her way to our door. At the time we had a cat, and for those who’ve read my blog may recall  Bart.  Introducing two eddy_7_13_a new kitties into the mix, just wasn’t going to work. Instead our kite shop became the home of my “identical girls”. When they first showed up, a neighbor suggested that Eddy was male. She was only six weeks old and had markings that indicated that she might be a he was possible.  I named her after a style of kite. An eddy kite is a diamond that doesn’t require a tail.  She was adorable and very young. It soon became apparent that she was also very shy. She eddy_kittenwould allow only her mama Breeze and me to be around her unconditionally and she imprinted on me right away. For the next ten years I would travel the five minutes from my doorstep to our shop in order to feed the girls and let them in or out.  Many times Eddy refused to come in for me. We have coyotes that visit frequently so I’d stubbornly spend several hours trying to coax Eddy out from under the shop and safely into her home. It got so frustrating that I called an animal communicator.  I was nervous about leaving town because she wouldn’t come in for anyone but me.  And even that sometimes took awhile.I had never worked with an animal communicator and was fascinated with everything she correctly told me about not only Eddy, but my other two kids as well. I was amazed. I was also very curious and thus began my personal journey. I would learn that I too was able to speak with animals in a clear and detailed way.  I’ve always been grateful to Eddy for introducing me to this rewarding career.

eb

After Bart went to spirit, we brought the girls home for retirement. They spent ten years showing guests around our shop and building their own fan club. But at the age of ten, they were ready for a change. Imagine their surprise and delight to discover beds, quilts, pillows, and the new treat of sleeping with mom and dad.  Eddy never did really take to John. He adored cats and tried his best to encourage her to sit with him but she rarely did. She was a mama’s girl.

0531081249

In the spring of 2015 John was admitted to hospice. He had a long battle with cancer and requested he transition at home, with me and our kitties. Breeze left us several years ago and Eddy never really recovered. We got her a kitten (as suggested by Breeze) but around us, she seemed miserable with the young male. But I watched her teach him how to navigate the woods. She sat on the deck and I eavesdropped as she instructed young Jack where was a good place to hunt, hide, or simply watch over the yard. She’s been the shy girl all her life but also took her role as The Elder Kitty seriously and tried to teach Jack what she had learned.

Sometimes in life we have to do things we think are impossible. And somehow we pull off the impossible. I know I did the right thing for her, but it still breaks my heart.

By the fall of 2015, it became obvious that Eddy wasn’t very  happy. She had health issues and insisted on being fed constantly. And the way she asked was a loud shriek that would make anyone with in hearing distance jump a mile. She shrieked day and night for food. But I realized too that she was insistent on helping me with my tough task of caring for John. She was going to stay in her body until I was ok and John had transitioned safely. It was too much to ask of her. So, on my birthday (not fun) I sent Eddy to be with her mama. I still feel guilty that I chose this route. I never thought it was something I could do. But ultimately this was the best decision for her. I was crushed. But Eddy?

The morning after she transitioned, I awoke to little giggles. Yes giggles. I heard my girls and they were sending me the message that all was right in their world. Reunited again, the two of them continue to send messages…… and giggles.

I still struggle with my decision to send my sweet girl onto her next journey. It was a really rough time for our family and I know I made the best choice at the time. She has no resentment towards me, in fact she’s very happy to be with Breeze again. I always thought of them as one soul in two bodies. And I think of it as making that soul whole again.

Sometimes in life we have to do things we think are impossible. And somehow we pull off the impossible.  I know I did the right thing for her, but it still breaks my heart.

She lived nineteen good years with me, as my little shadow. My shy sweet girl who lit the path for my animal communication journey.  My Eddy.

eddy_breeze_2

2 thoughts on “Eddy 1997-2015

  1. I have had to send four of my family of five kitties to spirit and I know how hard it is. Each of them told me in their own way, that it was time to go. Fortunately, my Vet allowed me to hold them after they were sedated…………..it helped a little. Occasionally, I think I hear one of them talking to me.

    Before I adopted that family, I had a kitty that was with me for 19 years. After she died, I often saw her out of the corner of my eye. I believe she was telling me to rescue another kitty. I rescued five…… one of the.best things I ever did!

  2. Yes. Seeing them out of the corner of your eye is very common. In fact one of my employees who worked for me when Breeze ran the shop, and is working for us again, told me he’s seen Breeze’s tail swishing out of the corner of his eye. Which means of course, Breeze is still running the shop. You remember those days Judy. I know because Breeze visited your shop often. Hard to believe it was so long ago, feels like a month or so.

    I still struggle with the decision, about Eddy. But I know now in my heart that she is much happier being reunited with Breeze. Thank you Judy.

Leave a Reply

